About Us

Dr. Peter Kertes

Chair's Message

The Department of Ophthalmology and Vision Sciences is one of Canada's foremost academic departments.

Through the five affiliated teaching hospitals and the Kensington Eye Institute, our educational, research and tertiary care programs are recognized world-wide.

Our researchers have international reputations, while our Fellowship positions attract candidates from all over the world.

The department is particularly strong in the areas of glaucoma, cornea and external disease, retina, oncology, genetics, oculoplastics, paediatric ophthalmology, ultrasonography, cataract surgery, neuro-ophthalmology etc.

Residents rotate through the five hospitals and Kensington during a five year ophthalmology program.

Peter Kertes, MD, FRCSC
Professor and Chair

Mission Statement

The mission of the Department of Ophthalmology and Vision Sciences is to provide, promote and to advance patient eye care in an academic environment by supporting and stimulating excellence in teaching and research.

This Department plans to achieve national recognition as a major Eye Care Centre. In conjunction with the Vision Science Research Program, education and research will be fostered and stimulated leading to the formation of a world class eye department.

Our goals are...

To achieve pre-eminence as a Research Department.

To be the finest Undergraduate and Residency Training Program in Canada.

To offer the highest quality research and clinical Fellowship positions.

To educate the community (medical and lay) in matters relating to eye care.

To interact and stimulate research in conjunction with the Vision Science Research Program and the University of Toronto in general.

To unite the University hospitals to form one strong University Department through teaching and research.

To promote and help develop eye care both nationally and internationally.

To make available experts to advise on policy relating to all aspects of eye care.

To prevent blindness by supporting and housing the Eye Bank of Canada (Ontario Division).