Chair and Vice-Chairs

Department Chair


Dr. Sherif El-Defrawy

Dr. Sherif El-Defrawy received his PhD in Pharmacology from Queen's University and his Medical Degree from the University of Calgary. He did his Internship at the University of Toronto (Sunnybrook Hospital), and residency in Ophthalmology at the University of Ottawa.  He joined the University of Ottawa Eye Institute in 1995 and was Residency Program Director there from 1999 to 2004.  In 2004, he assumed the Chair of the Department of Ophthalmology at Queen's University until 2012.

Dr. El-Defrawy is also Ophthalmologist-in-Chief at the University of Toronto-affiliated Kensington Eye Institute.  He was the President of the Canadian Ophthalmological Society from 2004-2006  and served as Chair of the CNIB/Baker Committee from 2008 to 2012.  He was also  President of the Association of Canadian University Professors of Ophthalmology, as well as Co-Chair of the Eye Health Council of Ontario. Dr. El-Defrawy has chaired or been a member of many  Ontario Expert Panels and vision task forces and also served on the Royal College of Physicians & Surgeons Examination Committee.

Vice-Chair Education

Dr. Allan Slomovic

Dr. Allan Slomovic

The role of the Vice-Chair Education is to maintain a clear vision of education and training priorities for the Department of Ophthalmology & Vision Sciences. The Vice-Chair monitors current practices and, as a key advisor to the Chair, develops and recommends short- and long-term strategic goals to ensure supports are in place for medical education, residency training, fellowship training and continuing professional development (CPD) at a very high standard.

Vice-Chair Education oversees the department's Postgraduate, Undergraduate, Fellowship, and Continuing Professional Development educational activities.

Vice-Chair Basic Research

Dr. Wallace

Dr. Valerie Wallace

The Vice-Chair Basic Research works with the Vice-Chair Clinical Research to enhance and promote the quality and profile of the department's many research initiatives. The Vice-Chair also plays an important role organizing the department's Faculty and Trainee Research Day and maintaining relationships with the Vision Science Research Program of the Faculty of Medicine as well as the many Research Institutes that house our vision researchers.  These include and the DKJ Eye Institute at the Krembil Research Institute as well as the Sunnybrook Research Institute, the Lunenfeld-Tanenbaum Research Institute, the Keenan Research Centre, Li Ka Shing Knowledge Institute and the SickKids Research Institute.

Vice-Chair Clinical Research

Dr. Rajeev Muni

Dr. Rajeev Muni 

Dr. Rajeev Muni has been a staff Vitreoretinal Surgeon at St. Michael's Hospital, The Hospital for Sick Children and the Kensington Eye Institute for the past eight years. Dr. Muni completed his residency in ophthalmology at the University of Toronto followed by a fellowship in Vitreoretinal Surgery.  He was awarded a Detweiler Fellowship from the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada for advanced training in Paediatric Vitreoretinal Surgery at the University of Southern California. Dr. Muni went on to complete a Masters Degree in Clinical Epidemiology at the Harvard School of Public Health.  

Since joining the University of Toronto, Dr. Muni has been the Director of Resident Research and the Chair of the Annual Department of Ophthalmology and Vision Sciences Annual Research Day. He has also served as the Director of Retina Fellow Research at St. Michael's Hospital since 2009 and has recently initiated a Vitreoretinal Clinical Research Fellowship at the University of Toronto.  He also sits on the KEI Research Committee. Dr. Muni has been the recipient of several teaching awards over the years including the Dr. Clive Mortimer Executive Award for Excellence in Postgraduate Teaching, the J.S Crawford Teaching Award, and several St. Michael's Hospital Ophthalmology Teaching Awards.  He has remained active in clinical research with a keen interest in randomized clinical trials for retinal detachment repair and prospective studies investigating the use of ocular fluid biomarkers to predict disease severity and treatment response for common Vitreoretinal conditions. 

Vice-Chair Clinical Affairs

Dr. Alan Berger

Dr. Alan Berger

The Vice-Chair Clinical Affairs oversees and ensures coordination and delivery of quality clinical education at the undergraduate and post-graduate level. As well as considering resident and fellow training objectives, the Vice-Chair Clinical oversees the department's various areas of specialized clinical service - Cornea and Anterior Segment, Glaucoma, Neuro-Ophthalmology, Ocuplastics, Ophthalmic Pathology, Paediatric & Strabismus, Retina & Vitreous, and Uveitis.

The Chiefs of Service promote the academic mission of the department within the realms of research, education and the provision of clinical service in their subspecialty. Service Chiefs are appointed by the Executive Committee of the Department after input from the faculty within that subspecialty. They advise the Executive Committee and other department committees regarding any aspect of the academic mission related to their service speciality.

Vice-Chair Faculty Development, Diversity and Equity and Global Health

Dr Radha Kohly

Dr. Radha Kohly

The role of the Vice Chair of Faculty Development (FD), Diversity and Equity and Global Health is to develop and oversee programs to promote these three areas. In FD, programs for Faculty will be developed, in areas such as mentorship, teaching, health and wellness, promotions, leadership and programs specific to stage-of-career, with the goal of providing Faculty with the support and skills necessary to reach their full potential. The area of Diversity and Equity involves hosting and supporting events specific to under-represented groups within DOVS and to ensure representation is considered in the Department. The goal in Global Health will be to provide a vision and strategic plan not only for the clinical care of underserviced populations both locally and abroad but also to foster symbiotic relationships that foster exchange, teaching, and excellence in Ophthalmology.