Director Fellowship Education

Dr. Navdeep Nijhawan

Dr. Navdeep Nijhawan

Navdeep Nijhawan graduated from the University of Toronto Medical School and completed his residency in Ophthalmology there. He graduated from the American Society of Ophthalmic Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery (ASOPRS) Fellowship at the University of Toronto in 2003.

Nijhawan is a well-known speaker and educator on topics related to ophthalmic plastic and reconstructive surgery and is actively involved in teaching medical students, residents, and fellows. He is an Associate Professor of Ophthalmology at the University of Toronto. Dr. Nijhawan is on staff at Mount Sinai Hospital and St. Michael’s Hospital in Toronto and Lakeridge Health in Oshawa. He is a preceptor for the ASOPRS fellowship at the University of Toronto and is the current Fellowship Director in the Department of Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences. In the past, he has been awarded the University of Toronto’s Department of Ophthalmology Golden Suture Award for resident surgical teaching.

He is also actively involved in promoting more effective and efficient eye care within the province and is a past Chair of the EPSO (Eye Physician and Surgeons of Ontario) and a member of the Eye Health Council of Ontario. Dr. Nijhawan is the current Secretary, Treasurer and CME Co-Ordinator for Canadian Society of Oculoplastic Surgeons.

For details on Dr. Nijhawan's background, please refer to his Faculty Members page.