Chief, Mount Sinai Hospital

Dr. David Yan 
Dr. David Yan

Dr. David B. Yan completed his undergraduate training at the University of Toronto in Aerospace Engineering in 1986. He then continued his engineering training at Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT), where he completed a Master of Science degree in Mechanical Engineering. He returned to Toronto in 1988 to attend medical school and received his Doctor of Medicine from the University of Toronto in 1992. He completed a four-year residency program in ophthalmology at the University of Toronto from 1992 to 1996.

Dr. Yan is the Ophthalmologist-in-Chief at Mount Sinai Hospital and a staff physician at University Health Network (Toronto Western Hospital) and Kensington Eye Institute.

Dr. Yan is an Assistant Professor in the Department of Ophthalmology at the University of Toronto. He is also a member of the Surgical Teaching Committee and Admissions Committee for the Department of Ophthalmology.

With wide-ranging research interests in both glaucoma and cataracts, Dr. Yan has published numerous peer-reviewed articles. He has lectured extensively at both national and international levels. Dr. Yan is the current Chair of the Canadian Glaucoma Clinical Research Council, one of the largest private donor organizations in Canada supporting clinical research in glaucoma.

Dr. Yan has unique qualifications in that he is the only ophthalmic surgeon practicing in Canada with an engineering background from Massachusetts Institute of Technology, the premier engineering school in the world. He has also developed numerous surgical techniques which have been adapted by numerous surgeons across the country, including advanced techniques to remove cataracts with lower ultrasound energy in the eye, and novel surgical techniques to implant artificial lenses into eyes with damage to the lens capsule. Dr. Yan is a strong proponent of the Canadian health care system and is deeply committed to advancing the delivery of eye care in Canada through resident teaching, patient education, and research.

Past Hospital Chiefs:

1986-2017 Dr. Jeffrey Hurwitz
1962-1985 Dr. Bernard Teichman